• Welcome to CivicXI.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

FL5 Paint Thickness

crash___

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
ISF, CW FL5
hello! i'm at 4k miles now with my type r and i have 0 regrets or complaints about the car so far, except paint. i'm new to hondas so i don't really know about the quality of them, but i've heard more cons than pros regarding it (especially with the 8th gen civics LOL). i've only owned lexus' up to this point and have never used ppf. maybe because the quality of lexus paint has spoiled me, but i am incredibly surprised on how quickly the paint chips on the honda. my ISF has around 160k miles currently and i swear i've probably collected around a quarter of the amount it has on my type r. i recently got my car ceramic sealed and counted the rock chips, and i have around 8 on the front bumper and two on my wing (which is quite impressive). not to mention, i am quite a relaxed driver as well. if the paint quality is a lot better than the fk8, then i wonder how badly fk8s got chipped because my car is chipping rapidly. yes, i probably should have gotten ppf, but with ppf, rock chips pierce through the film all the time, hence why i'd rather spend that money on a set of wheels haha. but now, i'm starting to regret not getting it. i do wonder what the front is gonna look like at 10k miles. currently using the saying "it's just a car" as a coping mechanism aha. anyone else without ppf having the same experience or do i just have bad luck?
Sponsored

DeVo

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Type-R #21399 (sold). 2023 Type-R #912