• Welcome to CivicXI.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Tint Around Third Brake Light

jthamm330

First Name
Jieff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Honda Civic Si
Hello Everybody!!
Got my Si last night.
Question for people with tinted windows. Did your tint installer tint around your third brake light. Are the panels easy enough to remove?
Thanks in advance.

11th Gen Honda Civic Tint Around Third Brake Light C28BF906-C09F-4DFE-B19D-CCFFBCD2F2A1

11th Gen Honda Civic Tint Around Third Brake Light FD240D79-F40A-40B8-8931-D1BC2744B865
Sponsored

dt10g

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic LX 6MT (Canadian)
I have no experience with how tint shops handle this, sorry but...

Regarding that rear deck, I suspect the 11th gen is very much like the 10th gen in that design. If you search YouTube for videos regarding Speaker installations / audio upgrades on the 10th gen sedan, you will find people showing how they come apart. TBH it looks like a pain in the a$$ but not impossible for one with some patience.

aspitfyr

First Name
Sav
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'23 Si, '20 FC4 (sold)
I’ve worked for a tint shop in the past. Of course, every shop and installer is different, but what they did for my 10th gen (and I would assume for the 11th gen) is they shrunk the film to the glass, sprayed foaming glass cleaner around it, then put a flashlight behind it. After that, they get out of the car and (usually) have someone follow their blade with the flashlight while they cut as close as possible to the edge. Generally they can tuck it to an extent to provide full coverage but not to interfere with the brake light itself.