• Welcome to CivicXI.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Anyone else find that going into 6th gear in the Type R is not as easy as other Honda's?

AUGM1

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
SI
Had a 2007 Si and a 2019 Si before this new Type R, and they were more positive and easily put into 6th gear.
It seems like 4th and 6th are too close or something.
Also, is it possible to miss 6th and go into reverse on the new R, or is it locked out at speed?
Before anyone says I don't know how to drive a manual, I've been driving them for damn near 30 years, but have only driven 6 speeds since 2007.
Sponsored

Fanatic

First Name
Sonny
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'23 Civic Type R and many more...
I haven't driven much other Hondas but I've driven other sports cars from other brands.

I'm pretty sure there's a lockout to prevent you from going into reverse at speed.

It doesn't seem all that difficult to go into sixth. You just have to be careful and precise with the shift patterns. I don't find anything wrong or any unusual difficulty.

madbikes

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
FL5 CTR
Also, is it possible to miss 6th and go into reverse on the new R, or is it locked out at speed?
The gate between 4th and 6th isn't as close as you say. You probably need to get used to the shifter some more.

Reverse is locked out as soon as you move. You won't go accidentally go into reverse from 5th.

Negitoro7

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Winter beater currently
I found it difficult to get into reverse last time I drove it, and I was at a standstill. Been driving manual Hondas for over 20 years. Hoping it’s a problem that won’t happen again, especially after break-in period.

Last edited:

Integra23

First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Integra 6spd A-Spec