• Welcome to CivicXI.com everyone!

If you're joining us from CivicX.com, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on CivicX.com as of May 24, 2020 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

I switched from GRC to FL5, here are my notes

fredzy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sienna, GR86, FL5
I've been compiling these notes for a few months and finally got some time to condense them over the holidays. The TL;DR is I enjoy driving the CTR a little more than the GRC and expect it to get better once the summer tires are back on. I don't regret the stint in the GRC by any means. It is probably the same amount of fun, it just achieves it differently. And of course the Civic is more practical.

Background

I wanted the FL5 Type R since I saw the first spy shots in May 2020. I never had any sort of crush on the GR Corolla. I gave the GRC a shot because I was ready for a new DD and an allocation fell into my lap that would end up about $12k cheaper than a Type R considering $5k markup. Plus AWD, since I'm in the snow belt. My only real concern was practicality.

To give some idea of my DD priorities I need a car that handles family duty well, and I want a car that is fun to drive. That's all. I don't plan to take this car to the track, and its abilities there are not very important to me. I also have a GR86, which I do occasionally take to the track. I only mention this to establish that I understand and can appreciate track capability.